

The Senate

STATE CAPITOL HONOLULU, HAWAI'I 96813

May 14, 2020

The Honorable David Ige Governor, State of Hawaii Executive Chambers 415 South Beretania St., 5th Floor Honolulu, HI 96813

Dear Governor Ige:

On May 13, 2020, Senate's Special Committee on COVID 19, held a meeting on the City & County of Honolulu's enforcement of your Emergency Proclamations and discussed these issues with Shannon Alivado, Chair of the Honolulu Police Commission, Dwight Nadamoto, Acting Prosecutor for the City & County of Honolulu, Rod Maile Administrative Director of the Judiciary, and a member of the Department of the Attorney General.

As a result of this and other meetings, the Senate Special Committee on COVID 19 finds that your Emergency Proclamations within the City & County of Honolulu is not consistently enforced. This inconsistency undermines all efforts to safeguard the public's health during this COVID 19 pandemic. With the efforts to reopen the economy and the increased numbers of visitors, we find inconsistent enforcement unacceptable.

Therefore, based on these discussions, the Senate Special Committee on COVID 19 now strongly recommends and urges that you take rapid action to improve enforcement and prosecution of violations of the Emergency Proclamations by amending the Emergency Proclamations to:

- Remove the possibility of delays in prosecution due to a jury trial by reducing quarantine violations to *a petty* misdemeanor;
- Mandate a minimum of 5-day jail time;
- Mandate that there be no bail; and
- Require violators to be quarantined in a specific secured location rather than in our jails.

Governor Ige May 14, 2020 Page 2 of 2

The Committee appreciates your attention to this matter and respectfully requests a response by **4:00 p.m., Monday, May 18, 2020**. Please email your response to all Senate Special Committee COVID-19 members. Should you have any questions, please contact Dane Wicker at 586-6639 or via email at d.wicker@capitol.hawaii.gov.

Sincerely,

Senator Donovan M. Dela Cruz Senator Jarrett Keohokalole Senator Michelle N. Kidani Senator Donna Mercado Kim Senator Sharon Moriwaki Senator Kurt Fevella

Cc. Senate President All Senators